Home > Discussion > Overboard

Overboard

November 29, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I feel I may have gone a little overboard this Black Friday, spending roughly $300 on things I may or may not actually need. Of interest are the two Western Digital Elements 2 TB drives I picked up from Target for $70 each, and the Logitech G500 I ordered from Newegg. The rest of my spending seems to have been blown into various media (DVDs, games) that really weren’t sitting at the top of my “needs” list, but hey, it’s the holidays.

I’ll get to reviewing the Logitech G500 when it arrives, but for now I’ll do a quick rundown of the external drives.

They’re big. Really big. Enough said. You plug in the drive (and format, in my case, since I use OS X), and you start to store stuff.. I don’t see myself really needing to upgrade for at least a while, as these terabytes should cover my movie addiction nicely, and so far, in doing my transfers from the old 1 TB Hitachi drive, I’m not seeing any hangs or clicks that I associate with the piece of crap Seagate Expansion I bought last year. You can check out this thread if you’d like to see what I mean.

http://forums.seagate.com/t5/Other-External-products/Seagate-Expansions-producing-loud-clicking-sound/td-p/30962?view=by_date_ascending

Categories: Discussion
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

