Home > Review > MacBook Air 11″

MacBook Air 11″

February 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

So I’ve been using my 11″ 1.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 64 GB MacBook Air today, and I’m incredibly pleased. I’m absolutely loving the tiny form factor, and the screen size is far from an issue due to the high resolution that comes with this thing.

I brought the computer to class, and I barely noticed that it was in my backpack. I also did something I rarely ever did with my 15″ MBP today; I worked sitting on a couch instead of at my desk.

Onto the actual review. This computer is snappy. This is completely attributed to the blade SSD that Apple has put into it. The computer boots faster than my old 15″ MBP with an Intel X25-M boot drive (likely due to Apple’s firmware tweaks with the Toshiba blade). Apps still launch with 1-2 bounces tops (like I’ve already been spoiled with) and I’m absolutely loving the sleep/wake speed.

Performance wise, I’ve already noticed a very tiny amount of stuttering on certain webpages. I’m not actually sure if this is due to the fact that I’m now on WiFi instead of Ethernet or the fact that the processor I’m using has been downgraded one whole gigahertz, but the stuttering is there. While I really love what this machine can do in such a tiny package, I can confirm that it definitely can’t be a primary machine for most people. I do somewhat miss the greater power in my old 2.4 GHz C2D, but that hunger should be satisfied soon when SB MBPs start popping up.

Also somewhat constraining is the size of the SSD on my model. Of course, I actually opted for the 64 GB over the 128 GB consciously, due to the fact that I really only wanted this as a secondary machine. While I plan on using this computer alone for the next couple weeks, the position of primary powerhouse will be filled once again by another 15″ MBP, this time Sandy Bridge. For now, I’ll just have to wait on my queue of Handbrake encodes.

In summary, as a mobile, secondary computer, the 11″ MacBook Air is a thing of beauty. Apple has designed a winner here, with a notebook that’s thinner yet more powerful than most computers even close to its size. While it won’t satisfy the needs of everyone, it will certainly perform all of your less-demanding tasks with ease. As a web-browser, document editor, or even basic media player, the MacBook Air is a winner.

Categories: Review
  1. Steve
    March 13, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Agree, the MacBook Air’s are excellent!

    Now that you have your 17″ MBP and 11″ MBA which one do you spend the most time on?

    • March 13, 2011 at 2:08 pm

      It’s actually hard to tell. I use the two machines for very different purposes. Since I got my MacBook Pro, it has probably done more work than the MBA, but I physically spend more time on the MBA for browsing and all my day-to-day tasks. The two definitely make a very perfect couple.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

