Home > Review > Lite On External DVD Drive

Lite On External DVD Drive

February 18, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Newegg had a sale on external DVD drives yesterday, so I went ahead and pulled the trigger on a Lite On external drive for $30 after $10 off, with free shipping (way cheaper than Apple’s arguably inferior solution). To my surprise, the drive arrived today (even though the free shipping was for 3 days). I unpacked the drive, and like one of the reviews said, the drive works with a single USB port on the MBA. I’ve already ripped my first DVD successfully (and rather quickly, I must say, compared to my old MBPs superdrive).

With regards to the aesthetics, the drive is very nicely designed. The drive is very thin, and appears quite sleek (though that super glossy top is quite the fingerprint magnet). Overall, for $30, I’m very satisfied with this purchase, and would recommend the drive to anyone with a MacBook Air and does not want to shell out $80 for something with the same functions.

Note: I have yet to test the disc burning speeds and reliability, but I will report back if the drive shows any issues. System Profiler and Disc Utility seem to play nice with this drive though.

Categories: Review
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

