Home > Discussion > Here It Comes

Here It Comes

February 23, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve been a little bit swamped the past two days, so I haven’t really had any time to post. It’s ironic, it’s been my first week without an exam for a while, yet I’ve been more busy.

Anyway, a couple of rumors popped up the last couple days. More MacBook Pro rumors, Intel unveiling LightPeak tomorrow, etc etc.

For starters, Apple has officially sent out invites for an iPad event next Wednesday, March 2. Hopefully whispers of a thinner design, dual cameras, faster processor, etc all come with this update. This should be interesting for all those who have been holding out for an update to buy an iPad (my family and several friends included).

I’m more interested in the imminent MacBook Pro refresh. Interestingly enough, today, the day before the supposed release, several images of the 2011 13″ MBP popped up, with a logo labeled “ThunderBolt,” likely to be Apple’s name for LightPeak. The images only manage to show the port-side of the MacBook Pro, with the ThunderBolt port being the same shape as the current MiniDisplayPort.

The leaks perplex me, though. If someone managed to get their hands on one of the new MBPs, why would they not take better pictures of the machine (other angles, more of the entire machine, for example)? Why wouldn’t the photographer have access to the 15″ and 17″ models, as well? Something smells fishy to me. Maybe the images are a controlled leak from Apple. They leak the 13″ only, while keeping the 15″ and 17″ (which might have more drastic changes) under wraps. Maybe the images are a fake leak also from Apple, to try and pinpoint a source for leakage within the supply chain. I guess ultimately, we’ll find out soon enough.

In the meantime, I managed to get a great deal on 8 GB of 1333 MHz DDR3 G.Skill RAM from Newegg ($55). This is an incredible deal that I’m hoping will go nicely with my new MBP later this week.

Categories: Discussion
  1. Dale C
    March 2, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    So did you end up getting a new MBP? If so, which one? I personally didn’t see enough of a redesign to justify a purchase for me this time, but will be looking at future updates as potential candidates to replace my current Core 2 Duo MBP. In the meantime, I’m hoping Apple updates the iMac line with Sandy Bridge, a Thunderbolt port and a cosmetic redesign that makes the iMac look more like the 27″ Cinema display. I think it’s time for that aluminum “chin” to take a hike! I’m also hopeful that Apple will once again offer a 24″ iMac. I think it’s the sweet spot between the (too small) 21.5 incher and the (gargantuan) 27 inch model.

    On a slightly different note, what’s your opinion of the new iPad 2 that was unveiled today? I’d be interested to hear your take on it.

    • March 2, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      Yes, I actually did order a new MBP, but it’s still en route here. I’ve also gotten myself a Mac dev account, with which I will download Lion soon. I have been bogged down by schoolwork this past week, and will be doing a monster of a post later this week. Stay tuned!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

