Home > Review > A Quick Review

A Quick Review

Yes, it’s been quite a while since my last post. College has been an utter ass-whooping lately, so I’ve had to set aside some activities to get a good amount of studying in.

About a week and a half ago, I had the small dilemma of picking a new backpack capable of carrying my recently purchased 17″ MBP. The old TNF Wavelength could barely fit the machine alone, and I also prefer having a sleeve over the machine to prevent scuffs.

I went ahead and ordered an on-sale TNF Box Shot, as that is one of TNF’s absolute largest backpacks. I’d called in and asked about fitting a 17″ MBP into a Hot Shot, but the CS rep told me that it would be difficult. The backpack came fairly quickly, and what do I discover? The backpack does NOT fit the machine with a sleeve. Awesome.

I end up stopping by my school bookstore, and being fairly Apple heavy here, they carry the Incase Nylon Backpack. I played around with the pack a little, and despite the rather slim-looking exterior, it was very roomy inside. The laptop sleeve fit my machine with a little room to spare, and the best part: the laptop compartment, as well as a couple other small pockets on the pack are faux-fur lined. This eliminated the need for me to buy a new sleeve for my MBP! I ended up buying the backpack on the spot, as I just wanted to get the backpack shopping done with.

So, as you can see from the pictures, the backpack is actually quite nice. I really like the huge pockets, and nice laptop compartment. Another great feature is the hidden pocket behind one of the cushions on the backside. My only gripe is that the straps, compared to TNF packs, seem a little bit lower quality. I also would have liked some extra straps (maybe across the waist) to help distribute any extra load I might be carrying on some days. Overall, I would definitely recommend this backpack to anyone with a 17″ machine. Those with smaller machines have way more options, but even with a 15″, this pack is amazing.

Categories: Review
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

