Home > Discussion, Random > Inertia

Inertia

I should really get my shit together. I keep telling myself I’m going to post more, but then I get lazy. This summer is really not going like I planned at all… I haven’t gotten any tech projects going, and I definitely haven’t been studying enough. Either way, it’s July 4th, and I figure I owe it to myself to take some time and make a post.

I’ve been on the Lion GM for a while, and I gotta say, I’m very happy with how it’s working. I hope iCloud comes out of beta soon as well, but I really can’t complain about how it’s working (pretty great). Lion itself is incredibly stable (I really have yet to find a problem with it), and despite it not really having all that many “revolutionary” updates, I really appreciate the under-the-hood changes, as well as the really nice UI overhaul. Lion is like the Snow Leopard to Snow Leopard, if you know what I mean.

I sold my 11″ MBA a week and a half ago in anticipation of an impending spec bump. When I bought the machine, I told myself it was just for portability, and I really wouldn’t need to be doing any spec chasing. Well, I’m not too good at resisting that kind of temptation. Considering I was able to sell the machine at about 85% of my original cost, I’m pretty happy. I’m actually very much looking forward to this boost in performance, since I’d been totally maxing out the 1.4 GHz CPU as well as the 4 GB of RAM. Hopefully, Apple will give us some more upgrade options on the 11″ this round.

Rumors on 9to5 Mac and Apple Insider this morning suggest that Apple might even ditch the blade SSDs in favor of some ONFI 3.0 tech. Essentially, it’s one more step to killing off user upgradeability. What this entails, essentially, is NAND flash soldered directly onto the motherboard, allowing speeds of up to 400 Mbps. While I really hate the idea of not being able to put in my own SSD, I really can’t complain about 400 Mbps on such a small machine. Though I have my doubts (mainly that Samsung isn’t quite on board with this tech yet, and Samsung is one of Apple’s main suppliers of flash memory; and that Apple JUST introduced the blade mSATA SSDs a couple of months ago), I can’t say this wouldn’t be an unwelcome addition that would make the snappy machines even more snappy. Thunderbolt is really just icing on the cake. My next big purchase is likely going to be some sort of external display (a 25″ HDTV as a monitor is really starting to look like crap next to a 17″ MBP). If Apple can deliver a new 27″ LED Cinema Display using Thunderbolt (a minor, but worthwhile upgrade), I might be picking one up. Sure, Thunderbolt peripherals are expensive, but I can’t help but imagine the possibility of using the Thunderbolt port to power the USB/Firewire hub that the displays carry. Granted, price will still be a major consideration, but the thought of a set of machines working in perfect synergy seriously appeals to me.

Categories: Discussion, Random
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

