Home > Discussion, Personal > Time for a Breather

Time for a Breather

So I finally finished this exhausting school year, and I’m seriously relieved. I’ve officially accrued all the grades that will actually initially be on my medical school application later this summer, so now all I really need to worry about is actually getting that done.

I’m home right now, and I noticed that instead of the crappy 4:3 monitor my mom had hooked up to the old Mac Mini before, we now have a gorgeous Aluminum Apple 23″ Cinema Display (a few generations old). I have the wonderful 27″ Apple Thunderbolt Display back at school, but this thing just makes me wonder why they ever changed the design. The brushed aluminum framing the matte screen just screams professionalism a lot more than the glossy, black-bordered “pretty” ATD. Anyway, I of course hooked up the display to my 11″ MacBook Air (currently my only computer) and it’s working pretty well!

Image
I recently picked up a new hobby – one that is, in my opinion, a lot more productive, and probably more healthy than my previous obsession to new computers. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still tightly following general tech rumors, especially Apple stuff (I would like to switch to a single 13″ MBP this year, if possible). I took that money I made a while back from selling my 17″ MacBook Pro and applied it to buying a camera. A Nikon D7000 to be precise, and then burned some more money on an MB-D11 battery grip, a Nikon AF-S 35mm f/1.8G DX, a Nikon AF-S 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G VR. and a Nikon AF-S 105mm f/2.8G VR Micro. I also have the new Nikon AF-S 28mm f/1.8G on preorder (it should be out at the end of this month, but I’m not holding my breath. For the past month or so, all of my internet time has been devoted to researching and learning (and lusting) about photography technique and gear. In the coming months, I may just start posting photos to this blog (or I might start a different one just for photos). Oh, I also spent a hefty chunk of cash on a new Ona The Union Street camera bag. It was expensive, but it’s also the only messenger-style camera bag that I could find that also fit a laptop AND didn’t look like a turtle shell.
Here’s my gear (I have Betty’s 18-55mm VR kit lens from her D3100 on my body right now, since she snatched up the 35mm for some sharper shots. That’s fine with me since the 18mm end of the kit lens is the only access I have to wide-angle right now.)
I’d like to point out that the HB-36 lens hood of the 70-300mm and the LC-62 lens cap of the 105mm are both 3rd party/knockoffs. When I bought these lenses off of Craigslist, I didn’t really know much at all, so I overlooked this. I did get good prices on the lenses, so I don’t really want to complain, but the seller probably could have mentioned that to me. The 3rd party lens cap isn’t bothering me too much (same design as Nikon ones, but without a logo), but the lens hood is very stiff and difficult to remove and put on. I’m tempted to spend the $15-20 to replace it. I did buy a Nikon NC clear filter for the 105mm and the 70-300mm came with a Hoya UV filter, but I will probably also buy two 52mm NC clear filters for the 35mm and the 18-55mm kit lens, just for protection.
Here’s a shot of my 35mm taken with a 50mm f/1.4G.
Image
Aaaand, here’s the camera bag:
Image
I’m not going to bother with any unboxing pics, since the boxes were not really interesting at all.
Categories: Discussion, Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

